Slash to release sixth solo album featuring Demi Lovato, Chris Stapleton and more

guitarist Slash during performance in Prague^ Czech republic^ February 11^ 2013

Guitarist Slash will release his sixth solo album, titled Orgy of the Damned on May 17 , featuring a wide-array of special artists including Demi Lovato, Brian Johnson, Chris Stapleton, Beth Hart, Iggy Pop, Paul Rodgers, Gary Clark Jr., Billy F. Gibbons, Chris Robinson, Dorothy and Tash Neal.

Slash released the first track, a cover of Howlin’ Wolf’s “Killing Floor,” on his YouTube channel.  The song features AC/DC’s Johnson singing the lyrics, and Aerosmith’s Steven Tyler plays harmonica; you can check out the video: here.  Slash said in a statement of the song: “‘Killing Floor’ is one of my favorite Howlin’ Wolf songs, but also one of the iconic blues riffs that turned me on as a young guitar player. I’ve always wanted to cover it in some capacity and this record was the perfect vehicle.”

For this album, Slash has assembled a blues band which includes Johnny Griparic on bass, Teddy Andreadis on keyboard, Michael Jerome on drums and Tash Neal on guitar/vocals. The 12-track LP includes Robert Johnson’s “Cross Road Blues,” Willie Dixon’s “Hoochie Coochie Man” (first recorded by Muddy Waters) and T-Bone Walker’s “Stormy Monday.” Demi Lovato joins him on”Papa Was a Rolling Stone,” and Iggy Pop appears on “Awful Dream.”

Orgy of the Damned is available for pre-order now.

Slash announces all-star ‘Orgy of the Damned’ album

Editorial credit: yakub88 /

Recommended Posts